MOTO G7 (River) Problem Installing TWRP

Help! Total newb here, trying to figure out how to strip Android off the G7 and replace it with /e/. I’ve already unlocked the bootloader, but haven’t been able to actually install TWRP on the phone. Would really love for a pro to swoop in and offer some guidance. Thanks in advance!

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

Hi JLZ. The link below will allow you to search for your device. Just follow the directions after you find it.:point_down:
https://doc.e.foundation/devices/

Here is the “River” device specifically :point_down:
https://doc.e.foundation/devices/river/

***and just a side note. It appears this device has an A/B slot setup. This means you will flash a temporary recovery .IMG which will be used to patch the slots and then flash /e/. When you flash /e/ it will also flash /e/'s recovery image which will replace the original/temporary recovery .IMG that you flashed a few steps previous. The install you are performing has a few extra steps above and beyond a non-A/B slot phone. Be sure you read through the direction fully before proceeding as to not brick the device.

1 Like

Ive also flashed a few G7+s so if you have a question reach out. Myself or others will help.

2 Likes

Thanks so much! I’m only fourteen, and truth be told, I’m completely out of my element! But I want to understand more, and install /e/ on my Moto G7 ‘River’. Right now I am having difficulty downloading TWRP, your advice would be greatly appreciated. The problem is I’m having problems with my Command Prompt. This is a copy of how I’m going…

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.19042.1052]
(c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Platform Tools\platform-tools_r31.0.2-windows\platform-tools>adb devices

• daemon not running; starting now at tcp:5037
  • daemon started successfully
    List of devices attached
    ZY225DNH92 unauthorized