OnePlus 5T install with TWRP 3.5?

Hi,

I’m following the install guide for the 5T. I put TWRP-3.5.0_9-0 onto the phone. However, I can’t get it to boot into the familiar UI for TWRP, with the icons of different actions. When I reboot into recovery mode using the vol down + pwr button, it gives me a language selection page, then four more options…

• Install from internal storage
  • Install from ADB
  • Wipe data and cache
  • Advanced
  • exit

Is this a new look for the TWRP screen, or is it ok to use the “install from ADB” to try side loading the .zip file? Or am I going down the wrong path?

The install instructions of the 5T page skip right to “on the device in TWRP” without any instructions on how to get into TWRP. I’m new to android and terminal work, but this is my third phone I’m putting /e/ onto. Perhaps the instructions haven’t been updated since putting out TWRP 3.5?

Thanks for any suggestions, just don’t want a brick!

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/ the unGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

Hi @Franko,
the /e/documentation Install /e/ on a OnePlus 5T - “dumpling” refers to TWRP Recovery in the old fashioned way (Paste & Copy), although there is now the matching eRecovery to the /e/ OS ROM.

The OnePlus 5T is a so-called A/B device. In TWRP, you’ve to switch to install the /e/ OS ROM. This isn’t mentioned in the /e/documentation.

However, if you install eRecovery from the beginning, you will not be confronted with this. So enter as follows: fastboot flash recovery recovery-e-0.14-q-2021020199535-dev-dumpling.img

Immediately afterwards reboot into recovery and now tap Factory Reset, then Format data / factory reset and continue with the formatting process. This will remove encryption and delete all files stored in the internal storage, as well as format your cache partition and system partition;

Return to the Main menu.
On the device, select "Apply Update", then “Apply from ADB” to begin sideload.