How To Upgrade Android 8 to Android 10 on S9+

Hi All…

I am new to eOS from Apple iOS just this last week, but have already bought an S9+ and successfully installed eOS and LOVE IT! :slight_smile:

LINK below to my post on how I installed from my MacBook Pro to help others :slight_smile:

Before I spend anymore time configuring my S9+ eOS, I am keen to work out the “right way” to upgrade from Android 8 to Android 10 as I see eOS can run on Android 10. I was hoping someone with experience could guide me BEFORE rather than help me AFTER I mess it up :slight_smile:

I have spent quite a few hours reading all over this forum, and my understanding is I need to “manually” upgrade to Android 10. I have downloaded what I believe is the official Samsung S9+ Android 10 file: G965FXXU7DTAA_G965FOXM7DTAC_XSG.zip and I am assuming I use TWRP to somehow flash the phone to Android 10, then update to eOS Q 0.14.

I see @SuzieQ has helped a few S9+ newbies… and I would be very grateful for some guidance on the correct way to proceed from SuzieQ or other knowledgeable eOS’ers :slight_smile:

Thanks for some help and I am loving being here…

To our privacy…
David

No, @ITVAULT, do not use TWRP to flash G965FXXU7DTAA_G965FOXM7DTAC_XSG.zip. please. The file must be unzipped first. Four of five resulting files with the extension .tar.md5 are to be installed in your case by Heimdall | macOS. Please see also my user-experience Galaxy S9+ ‘star2lte’ /e/OS ‘Q’ dev AOSP Android 10

May I please ask for a little guidance again from @SuzieQ and/or @piero. I am trying to teach myself as I go, but I just don’t know this one part of the puzzle as I dont have experience in using terminal to load files onto a phone and then run it to flash :confused:

So after 7 hours on my laptop today reading (several times) all the links you included above, I feel like I understand most of this. On my Mac, I have ADB and Heimdall installed/ working via Terminal. I know how to install eOS and upgrade it to eOS Q.