Need help - S7 freezes all the time

Hello everyone,

I need help, I have been using a samsung galaxy S7 with /e/os for almost 3 years. In the last months, it started to freeze sometimes when using Mozilla Firefox so I had to do soft resets (power + volume down).
Lately it started to happen more often so I freed up some space in internal storage by adding a SD card and transferring data to the SD card, I also updated to the latest version of /e/ mid last week (v 2.2 I think), it seemed to get better for 2 days, then it got much worse : now I can’t use my phone at all anymore, it gets stucks at one of the 2 screens during launch (“Samsung Galaxy S7” screen or " e, my data is my data" screen).
I looked at different topics on this forum but can’t progress, I can access the Odin mode or download mode, but I don’t understand how to progress further (I have a Mac, and can’t manage to install Jodin, nor heimdall), I can barely access the recovery mode (saying version 1.17), but I don’t know what to do next (I tried “reboot to bootloader”, I could use my phone for a minute then it froze again)

Any suggestions ?

Have a nice day
L

Regain your privacy! Adopt /e/OS the deGoogled mobile OS and online servicesphone

Do you know if you were running a stable aka Official build/? I guess the rest of this reply is assuming you answered yes.

If yes, I think you should read this thread Problem update 1.20 on Samsung Galaxy S7. There were a number of threads around this time, but this one seems to contain quite a lot of links.

Users were given this alert at the time

It was significant that users should not have any SD card installed as Internal storage before the OTA Upgrade. Some explanation of Internal / External SD card ✏ A little guide to... using SD cards - Guides - Fairphone Community Forum. Do you have an SD card installed as Internal?

I am not a Mac user, so I have no input on that front.

What sort of difficulty are you having?